Showing posts with label Rock Creek Kansas. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rock Creek Kansas. Show all posts

Saturday, July 18, 2020

Leavenworth, Topeka and Southwestern Railroad (Part 1)


Originally written by John Bower, as a two-part article on the L.T. & SW Railroad, this article was published in the Jefferson County Historical Society Newsletters of August and September 1982.
- - - - - - -
It is not my purpose to write a complete history of the Leavenworth, Topeka and Southwestern Railway (in my time [Mr. Bower’s time] it was called the Leavenworth and Topeka, the L&T, the Southwestern or “Old Jerky”). This is the story from a Jefferson County perspective its construction, its struggle to survive, and its part in opening up a rich rural region.

Principal source for the early history is The Oskaloosa Independent, published for 100 years in Oskaloosa by the Roberts family (to be cited as IND, or simply by the date of issue where the source is indicated by the text). [John Wesley Roberts was the Independent editor at the time of the L.T. & SW Railroad bond issues and construction. His son F.H. Roberts took over as editor in July 1882.]


Jefferson County had railroad fever in 1881. Nine years after the Kansas Central built through Winchester and Valley Falls, Oskaloosa was still without a railroad. Dependence on horse transportation meant isolation and business stagnation.

“Two railroad companies are preparing to build roads to this place as soon as wind and weather permit...(IND 1/8/1881) “Parties in the interest of the Kansas City, Oskaloosa and Northern Railroad were here yesterday, and left for Valley Falls in the evening... our Topeka and Leavenworth neighbors will have to hurry up or they will get left.”

With federal grants for railroad building no longer available in the 1870s and ’80s, promoters turned to local areas for funds to build the roads to serve them. The key to getting a railroad was the approval of bonds by the cities and townships benefitted.

Petitions for bonds for the Leavenworth, Topeka and Southwestern were being circulated in Jefferson County in January 1881 (IND 1/22/1881). Election notices appeared February 12; Oskaloosa Township proposed $29,000. Osawkee Township $25,000, and Rock Creek Township $16,000. These were 30 year bonds, bearing six per cent interest. They were to be exchanged dollar for dollar for stock in the railroad. Each proposition gave an approximate location for a depot within the township. The line must be operating within the township within one year to qualify.

The Independent had opposed Jefferson County bonds for the Kansas Central (6/16/1871). But Roberts threw his full support behind the proposal to build a railroad from Leavenworth through Oskaloosa to Topeka and beyond. Announcing a meeting for the purpose of “consulting in reference to the best railroad interests of the county at this time,” the Independent urged, “Go to the railroad meeting at the court house this Saturday.” (1/22/1881)

“As a mere matter of speculation,” said the Independent on March 5, “it will be paying investment to the townships, and will render a rich return for the outlay... If the citizens of Rock Creek and Osawkee Townships fail to carry the propositions submitted to them to vote aid in the cost of the proposed railroad through their territory, they will throw away the only probable opportunity they will ever have to advance their interests in this direction.”

Editorials on March 5 and 19 laid out the main arguments. To objections of some that they didn’t like the method of financing, or didn’t want it on their farm, Roberts argued that it would enhance the value of real estate, bringing in new people and businesses. He saw cheaper prices at the stores, higher prices for farm produce, good wages, more demand for labor.

Since the new railroad would pay taxes, it would pay a considerable part of the debt incurred in its favor. Roberts calculated potential tax benefits at Oskaloosa to show the bonds were a bargain. This benefit would continue after the bonds were paid off. If the line made money, townships would profit from the stock they held.

Roberts did not stop with logical arguments. “The probabilities are that this is the last call, the acceptable time, the day of salvation,” he intoned with Old Testament fervor. “Then do not remain straddle of the fence longer... but act promptly, do your duty by voting for the railroad and look forward for and expect a better day.

“Next Monday is the day set for voting aid to the railroad in this township.” (IND Mar. 19) “We learn there are some citizens so far behind the times they propose to vote against it. They are to be pitied for their lack of enterprise and sagacity. Deal with them gently. If they never grow wiser they will die so far behind the times it will take them a hundred years on the other side to see the first glimmer of progressive daylight.”


Oskaloosa approved the bonds 335 to 18 (Mar. 26). Rock Creek Township carried by 104. Osawkee by 113. “Hurrah for the railroad!” said the Independent.

Petition for a vote on $15,000 in bonds in Union Township, signed by O. Hosford, J.F. Willits and 83 others, was reported March 5. The election would be Tuesday, April 19.

With the vote approaching, the Independent observed (Apr. 9), “we take it the people of Union Township are too intelligent and progressive to require any words from us to vote for the bonds.”

When the election carried by only 16 votes, Roberts commented (Apr. 23), “There are more men behind the times in Union than there ought to be...” One can surmise the proposal to locate the railroad depot more than two miles from Dimon, largest settlement in the township, [actually on the Leavenworth County border] may have had some influence on the vote.

The same issue reported that Topeka had approved bonds for the railroad by over 500 votes. Bonds for a railroad, apparently the L.T. &. SW, passed in three of four townships in Morris County. Alexandria Township in Leavenworth County was to take a vote. Leavenworth voted $50,000 for the railroad by a margin of 796 votes. (Aug. 20)

Surveyors were reported “between here and Topeka” on May 14. A May 28 editorial belittled the ignorance of The Kansas City Journal for saying the new railroad would have no local traffic, asserting that is on the same level as the fear of being scalped by Indians in Kansas City.

Engineers were reported locating the actual line of the road on August 6. They were expected to reach the west line of Leavenworth County “this week.” (Aug. 20)

Signing of the construction contract was reported August 27. This conflicts with a 1925 report of the Interstate Commerce Commission, which says the contract was let September 3. (Docket 601, Interstate commerce Commission, Sept. 24, 1925)

September 3 the Independent was reassuring people of Osawkee and Rock Creek that nobody at Oskaloosa was trying to change the route of the railroad. The following week arrangements were reported complete for building the entire line from Leavenworth “into Lincoln County.”

Iron for 240 miles was said to have been purchased, and the contractors expected to have the first 40 miles completed by November. (Sept. 17) Some people around Thompsonville wanted part of the new road, and there was talk of dividing Kentucky Township.

The proposed route across the middle of Leavenworth and Jefferson Counties was not an easy place to build a railroad. When the farthest reach of Kansan glacier dumped its accumulated load, it left a high prairie whose highest point at McLouth is nearly 400 feet above the Kansas and Missouri rivers which skirt it on the south and east. This prairie is deeply etched by streams flowing to the Kansas River, forming a series of valleys and highlands across the path of the new railroad.

In 46.5 miles from Leavenworth to Meriden, the line crossed four major streams and many lesser ones. Construction required a rather heavy 33,000 cubic yards of excavation per mile. There were four iron bridges from 57 to 120 feet long, and 49 pile and frame trestles. Construction cost was more than $20,000 per mile. (Docket 601, ICC op. cit.)

Some older towns suffered from their high location. The line entered Jefferson County following the divide between Fall and Tonganoxie Creeks, more than a mile north of the pioneer village of Dimon. Residents there blamed Amos McLouth, probably not without reason, for diverting the railroad to cross McLouth’s farm, where he promptly started a new town. But the valley of Tonganoxie Creek would have been a serious obstacle to reaching Dimon from the northeast.

Continuing toward Oskaloosa, the line crossed present K-16 highway a mile west of McLouth and followed the divide between Buck and Slough creeks. This ridge led into Oskaloosa from the southeast, but beyond was Slough Creek, 150 feet lower than the courthouse and little more than a mile away. Engineers made the descent by bypassing Oskaloosa on the south and west, going down the draw where the city lakes now are [in 1982].

Oskaloosa depot was in the valley west of town, inside the sharp curve where K-92 highway turns northwest to follow the old railroad line. The steep, rocky road running up the hill northeast from that spot was for more than 40 years the road from Oskaloosa to the depot. The Independent bitterly protested this location of the depot. Farmers complained it was the most inaccessible spot around Oskaloosa, requiring useless travel over a bad road, and threatened to go to Winchester or Perry instead. They blamed Oskaloosa citizens for not making more protest against it. (Nov. 26)

It was reported the man who made the first survey was in the employ of the Santa Fe, and deliberately “ran a most ridiculously crooked route, apparently for the purpose of showing that a straight line could not be secured... Why the line should be run over the highest ground in this region when a route 50 to 60 feet lower can be found and requiring nearly a mile less to make the ascent or descent is a conundrum which people of common sense cannot answer.” (Dec. 10)

The route selected required a cut 1,000 feet long and 30 feet deep east of present U.S. 59 highway south of Oskaloosa (the Independent dubbed it “the engineer’s folly”), while the depot was located “out-of-sight of the world where it would be the least possible value to the city and the township.”

Roberts favored a route down “Newell Creek” on the east side of town, with the depot perhaps near the present site of the county shops. “It is all non-sense,” he said, “to talk of this place being inaccessible.”

December 17: “We say once more to the managers of the railroad that they are standing in their own light and working against their own interests in not seeking a more satisfactory location of the road and depot at this place... If the company should faithfully try to secure a route for their road through the corporate limit of the town and fail, the citizens will pay the expense of the survey.”

But, when the engineers stuck to their decision, leaving Oskaloosa one of the few Kansas county seats without a railroad through town, the Independent never wavered in its support. December 31, 1881: “Col. Snow informs us that they have commenced laying track on the railroad at Leavenworth, and have two engines there for service. They will have the cars running to Oskaloosa by the first of March. Whoop it up, Colonel.”

January 7, 1882: the Independent featured a long letter, signed by “I” (probably John N. Insley, civil war veteran and leading citizen of Oskaloosa, according to Bill Leech), counseling the community to stop quarreling with the location of the railroad depot and build a first class road from the square down to it. A survey for such a road was reported February 18, and again June 24. Why they waited 40 years to build it is not clear.

February 4, 1882: Mr. McLouth has laid out a townsite of 135 lots where the Leavenworth, Topeka and Southwestern Railway crosses the county road on the west line of his farm, and will have George Davis sell the lots at auction this Saturday.”

February 11: “Track is being laid on the L.T. and SW Railroad at the rate of a mile and a half a day. The county line will be reached before the first of March, we are told. Completion of the line into the county was reported March 4.

March 25: The cars will be running to McLouth in a few days. “This is the first use we have seen of the name ‘McLouth’ to designate the new town.”

Many of the workers were reported leaving the railroad construction crews because of the shameful manner in which they were paid. (Apr. 8) Roberts thought contractors who cheated their men ought to be in the penitentiary, “along with other thieves.”

Two adjacent sections of road-bed east of McLouth were said to have been laid out with jump-off of three feet in elevation, requiring regrading before track could be laid. “No wonder such scientific and skilled engineers could not find a route through this city!” Roberts snorted. (Apr. 22)

Meanwhile, work was progressing west of Oskaloosa, between Slough Creek and Osawkee, the most rugged part of the route. Slough Creek Times, March 11, reported, “There is one cut one fourth mile in length and ranging from six to 21 feet deep. Half the depth is hard limestone rock, which has to be blasted out with powder. West of this cut is a small mountain sloping up from Little Slough Creek to a height of 300 feet. The road passes halfway down the slope. There are two fills ranging from 30 to 34 feet in depth and 300 feet long... ”

“One of the Rice Brothers” was preparing to make a blast in this cut when blasting caps exploded in his pocket, injuring him severely. He was recovering at St. John’s hotel. Rice Brothers had a construction contract on the railroad. (Aug. 5)

Freight was coming to Oskaloosa by the new railroad line by May 6. “Our people all go (to Leavenworth) by the new railroad now. “A hack from Lohman and Sprague’s met the train at the end of track three miles east of town.”

Roberts took his first ride on the new railroad the week of May 20, and was surprised how smooth it was. He said the new depot building at McLouth “is in good style and taste, and creditable to the railroad where it is located.” The river bridge at Osawkee was finished. The first “excursion” on the new line was reported, and the first timetable appeared in the paper. Fare to Leavenworth was $1.15; from McLouth, $1.00.
 
The Oskaloosa Independent, June 3, 1882
The first train wreck was reported June 3. An engine and tender jumped the track east of McLouth, blocking the line for a day.

There was a big celebration in Oskaloosa June 2. (June 10) Between 500 and 600 people came from Leavenworth. Farmers and townspeople helped bring people from the end of track south of town. The Barry Cadets drill team “drilled in a masterly manner.” Oskaloosa Glee Club sang and the band played. About 2,500 people were there from over the county. Completion of the line through Oskaloosa Township was reported June 24. Mail was going to Leavenworth by train, with much better service. (July 8) There was a new post office at McLouth, and the Independent had a growing club of subscribers there getting the paper by train.

Oskaloosa depot was built with a second story, with rooms upstairs for the agent’s family (July 22). E.T. Albert was the first agent. (Aug. 19)

Grading and bridges had been completed to Meriden by July 22, but work was still being done on “expensive trestlework this side of Osawkee.” One trestle was 700 feet long. Another, 400 feet long, was being filled-in with earth. (Aug. 26)

Apparently difficult areas were bridged by trestle, then filled in, with fill material probably hauled in railroad cars. One of these trestles was still in existence in 1981, hidden by brush and trees on a hillside above Little Slough Creek about four miles east of Osawkee, according to Roger Coleman, Jefferson County Soil Conservationist.

While they were building through this rough country time ran out on the bonds voted by Osawkee and Rock Creek Townships, and the original bonds and matching railroad stock were destroyed by the county commissioners. (July 15) A spirited campaign was waged at Osawkee to renew their $25,000 commitment, but it lost by a narrow vote. (Aug. 19)

The Independent deplored this unfairness to the railroad which had kept its promise to give them a road, but many people probably felt no need to pay for something they were going to get anyway. There was no mention of any second vote in Rock Creek Township. Delay had cost the promoters $41,000.

Announcement the following week that the L.T. & SW had been purchased by the Santa Fe railway brought a dramatic change in the situation. It was to be completed to Meriden and operated as other branches of the Santa Fe system. The Independent approved, for this guaranteed the line would be completed.

Shortly thereafter, the construction camp was moved to Meriden (Sept. 23). The line was to be finished from that end.

While grading had been largely completed to Topeka (traces of the old grade can still be seen along Meriden Road in Shawnee County), rails were never laid beyond Meriden. L.T. & SW trains went on into Topeka on the Santa Fe tracks. (ICC Docket 601, op cit.)

The first train from Leavenworth to Topeka via Oskaloosa a locomotive and one car — went through Tuesday, October 10. (Oct. 14) “There was not much noise about it,” the Independent said, “but it was an important event anyhow, marking the opening and completion of a line of road through the center of one of the oldest and last counties of this state, and giving the county seat direct connection with Topeka and Leavenworth something she has waited for lo! these many years.”

Another important event was recorded in the same issue; the telegraph line was completed as far as Oskaloosa. The first message was sent Wednesday afternoon. Now news of the outside world was only minutes away. The line was built through McLouth October 6. (Oct. 7)

The first section gang at Oskaloosa was established, with Thomas Coffey foreman. (Oct. 21) N. Glenn bought the first ticket from Oskaloosa to Meriden. (Meriden Items, Oct. 28). Construction of the new railroad opened up a rich agricultural area in Leavenworth and Jefferson Counties. It became one of the best “feeder” lines in the state (Topeka State Journal, Jan. 12, 1918), bringing livestock and farm produce to the then considerable food processing industry in Topeka.

Economic growth was stimulated. Oskaloosa had a sawmill (IND Aug. 19) and a new brick plant. (Aug. 12) Coal from Leavenworth was only $4.30 per ton by the carload. (Aug. 28) Oskaloosa schools would save $45 over previous year on the winter’s fuel supply.

“Since the beginning of the railroad agitation, the Independent reported July 22, “some 43 new business houses and residences have been built in Oskaloosa.” That is a remarkable growth for an already established small town.

New towns and shipping facilities were springing up. McLouth grew rapidly, establishing itself as an important trade center. Others, like McIntosh (two and one half miles southeast of Oskaloosa half a mile south of Robbins Auto Salvage), and Ackerland in Leavenworth County, disappeared with the railroad. A few houses still remain of Spring Valley, laid out near Oskaloosa depot in the fall of 1882 by N. Macomber. (Oct. 14)

Thus the hope of local citizens who bonded themselves to secure the benefits of railroad transportation, probably were realized. But the hope of promoters to reach far away places and reap big profits were not. The L.T. & SW did not make money.

Possibly foreseeing this, the Independent editorialized August 23, “It is a good deal better for Oskaloosa that the Santa Fe has the road than that an independent company should run it.” Topeka interest did not agree. They thought it would stifle competition. (Sept. 2)

It soon became known (Sept. 16) that the Union Pacific had become joint owner with the Santa Fe. They did not integrate the line into either of the parent roads, operating it as a subsidiary, with its own officers and headquarters in Topeka. For 35 years the parent lines absorbed its losses. (ICC Docket 601, op. cit.)

Thus history would confirm both viewpoints, but that is another story.
 
John D. Bower
TO BE CONTINUED

This story appeared in “Yesteryears” in October 2014.

Friday, January 17, 2020

A Great Wolf Hunt


From the Meriden Ledger, December 13, 1901
By “Nimrod” 
Last Thursday witnessed a wolf hunt in our vicinity the like of which has not been seen in many a day — a genuine old fashioned hunt* — with horses and hounds and guns and hunters galore. Lafe Crane, who lives on the old Jim Martin place, reported that a large pack of hungry wolves were roaming about his farm and Upper Muddy [creek], killing dogs, throttling live stock and frightening women and children out of their wits. No sooner was this interesting information received in Meriden than a hunt was planned and the extermination of these ferocious beasts determined on. Word was sent to all the hunters in this and surrounding neighborhoods and truly it was a goodly assemblage that met on Thursday morning armed and loaded for the fray. Bob Wilkerson and Bill Hutchinson put their shooting irons in order, wiping out the rust that had accumulated since the convict hunt. Al Mitchell and Jimmy Boyer double shotted their pieces and skirmished out in advance on foot. Will Seal and Irve McQuilkin moved out to the right flank as far as Chris Martin’s where their horse fell sick and they gave up the fight. Chet Peebler was ready to go but his bird dog was under the porch scratching off fleas and would not come out, so Chet did not get on the firing line. Orb Frost got Charley McCoy’s best running horse in good trim and otherwise assisted in the rear. Ed Reed came up the night before with all but thirteen of his fine collection of dogs and hounds. Among them were the famous Pot hounds, Boozer and Snoozer. These are the two dogs for which Ed traded his last cow — so the wicked Popssay — Word was sent to George O’Brien and it was hoped he would come so as to give a truthful report of the affair afterward; but he had an engagement nursing a case of small-pox (the wild woman) and was unable to be present: hence the meagerness of this brief and bare account. In the absence of George O’Brien, George Richards was asked to report the affair and will probably do so later. Bill Sniggers, the famous hunter of Stink Creek was also unable to come. He was busy rounding up his children from the hazel brush for the winter, but he sent seventeen of his best dogs which partly atoned for his absence. All the dogs were collected the evening before and shut up in a box stall at the Livery Barn. During the night one of Snigger’s setters escaped, gnawed all the leather off a new saddle and ate three boxes of axel grease. His work next day was uncommonly smooth. Early in the morning all the hunters came together for the start. It was deemed necessary to take a plentiful supply of remedies for snake bites. Nowhere are rattlesnakes thicker than on Muddy and at this time of the year they bite viciously. There was a slight hitch in the plans here also as the drug stores have shut down for repairs during Revival. Word was sent to Rock Creek, St. Joe, K.C. and other wholesale points and the deficiency somewhat remedied. When stock was taken just before starting, the list showed three half pints of white horse, seven bottles of Hostler’s Stomach bitters, one jug of hard cider and one quart bottle of that form of liquid damnation known as Hainer’s. The dogs were called together; the ammunition wagons loaded everybody took a good pull and the start was made. Past Rice’s Hill, the Seal School House and the big Rock the party sped without mishap until going down the little bank north of the old Rippetoe’s place, Hink Botts leaned forward from his seat in the surrey to spit. Just then the front wheel ran into a chuck hole, the surrey lurched over and Hink tumbled over on the wheel [and] alighted on his head at one side of the road. He turned over, sat up, a little dazed but a few liberal doses of “polluted” white horse put him on his pins again and the journey continued. On raising the hill along the old Graden place the first wolf was sighted. It had crossed the road going east, and the hounds took up the trail with a chorus of deep howling and bawling. Away they went through the cornfields, across the road near the Hardshell church and then on over the hay fields and out of sight in the direction of George Biggs place.

This story appeared in “Yesteryears” in October 1988.

Note: The Meriden Ledger ran this story with a “To Be Continued” line, but no subsequent account appears on newspapers.com.


*In The Old Home Place, Jefferson County author Joy Lominska writes, “Red wolves once lived in the area, and the hunts may have actually begun as wolf hunts. However, over time the wolf population declined and the ever-present coyote became more numerous, as well as possibly interbreeding with remaining wolves to create a hybrid. The wolves and wolf hybrids would have been difficult to distinguish from coyotes from a distance. These hunts were still called wolf hunts, even when the target was largely coyotes.”

Wednesday, October 2, 2019

President Taft Visits Rock Creek, Kansas


By Clara Martin Council

President Taft also made a brief stop
in Valley Falls, Kansas.
On a long special Santa Fe train, President Taft arrived in Topeka early on a September day in 1911. There was a parade and a speech at the celebration for the laying of the corner stone for the Memorial Building in Topeka. President Taft then left for a trip to Atchison and St. Joseph, and he made a brief stop at Rock Creek.

The President came out of the parlor car at the rear of the train and addressed a large crowd which had gathered at the depot. He said to the people, “So this is Rock Creek, Kansas. It is also the name of our most beautiful park in Washington, D.C., ‘Rock Creek Park’.”

The Rock Creek Band greeted him, playing “The Star Spangled Banner.” The members of the band were Fletcher Long who was the director, his brother John Long, Vern Puckett, John E. Coffey, James E. Coffey, Dr. Preston, Clarence Banks, William Edwards, Everett Edwards, Roy Williams, Roger Williams, and Charles J. Martin (who was a brother to Clara M. Council and the father of Lila M. Swafford). All of the above were from Rock Creek. Gene and Dick Christy of Meriden were also members of the band.

This was a very special day for the little town, and people came from near and far to see the President. The occasion was long remembered by those who were present.

(This article was written by Clara Martin Council who was present at the whistle-stop in Rock Creek that day. The article was submitted by her niece, Lila Martin Swafford.)

This article appeared in “Yesteryears” in April 1989.